MOOC myself. Chapter 1: The Idea

MOOC Hysteria

Hello world. After quite a long time, I feel the moment has come to revive my personal blog. In my defense, I have been blogging for TEDxVienna, so I haven’t quit the blogosphere entirely.

 

 

But I am back. Because I had a new idea that fits into the category “Try something new. Every day.”

I am passionate about learning, and I am passionate about technology (which probably explains why I earn my living as education technologist). And I like self-experiments. Which is why I will expose myself, deliberately and voluntarily, to a MOOC.

MOOCs – Massive Open Online Courses. We have probably all heard of them, admired the beauty of the concept, probably enrolled to one or several, experienced the honeymoon phase (aka “Introduction”), and then decreased and postponed our contributions, never really dropped out – because how do you define “drop out” when there are no mandatory exams to skip and not tuition fees to not pay any more. But I barely know any people personally who actually finished an entire course. 

So I will try to become one of them: A person that completed a Massive Open Online Course. And I will try to document that process in my blog.

There are no rules, except for the one that I’ll pick a subject that I haven’t really been in touch with before. I will try to avoid fields that are clearly related to my job, to previous studies or obvious fields of interest. Why? Because this is one of the characteristics of MOOCs that I find most fascinating: That you have the option to learn things that are really new. To, sorry for the cliché, broaden your horizon as you could never have done before.

Let’s see where I’ll end up.

About Sophie Lenz

I like: towns, books, web 2.0, web 3.0, linguistics, computer sciences, autumn, gin tonic, sarcasm, trains, Harry Potter, blogs, theories & concepts, square numbers, purple, green & turquoise, llamas, polar bears & owls, verbs & prepositions, agglutinative languages I don't like: spiders, heat, celery, handicrafts, TV, adjectives, salsa music, chickflicks, beach holidays, ironing, clubbing, motorcycles, slow people, the countryside, whiskey, talking on the phone
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

